First Comes Love, Then Comes Marriage

…then comes 8 years of blood sweat and tears… Haha {but seriously}

As you’ve probably heard by now, we are pregnant! Well, to be more specific, I am pregnant; Justin is Justin.

Depending on how you know us, you might be quite surprised by this information. We haven’t exactly followed the “normal” trajectory of relationships. We fell in love in high school, got married just out of diapers, and immediately began wandering.

The simple explanation is that babies weren’t in our game plan (the longer and more accurate explanation begins with “babies were not in my game plan” – that conversation requires a sit-down with food and drink). But apparently babies were in God’s game plan because in 2015 He began wooing me into the idea until I eventually jumped on board and we took the dive (again, the simple explanation).

Currently we’re propelling through the air from the tallest high jump we’ve ever plunged from with various thrills and terrors coursing through us. I’m told that the pool waiting below contains a combination of all our current emotions plus an inexplicable love which buoys you through and makes the whole jump worthwhile (often even prompts another leap).

Something I know for sure is that life is about the seasons and the journeys even more than the endgame. I’m absolutely terrified of being a parent but at the same time I am eager for the edification of character and broadening of perspective that will come with it. The tiny items I’ve begun to gather are fairly bolstering as well 🙂

So for now, I am grateful for the 18ish weeks she has left to cook but I’m also intrigued by the potential of who I, we, she will be in the 18ish years from now.

If you happen to be one of those people that prayed for my enormous change of heart; PLEASE DO NOT STOP PRAYING. I am holding you partly responsible for this journey and expect you to pray as fervently for the reality of our growing family as you did for the conception of it. Go Team.

6 comments

  1. Very happy for you! Not always easy but certainly worth it! And the God Who gives life will be with you to give you wisdom to handle those times when you are not sure what to next. He is also the God of love and is giving you the privilege to lavish His love on this special little lady!

  2. Oh my! SO FREAKING EXCITED!! You two will make the most incredible parents. What a blessing and honor!!!! Miss you both 🙂

Leave a comment

